You are here:

Employment Town Hall – March 24, 2012

After the success of the last town hall meeting on the CNIB Library hosted by The Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians and Citizens with Disabilities Ontario, We are pleased to bring you our next in our series of electronic town hall meetings. On Saturday March 24, 2012 at 10 AM Pacific, 11 AM Mountain, 12 PM Central, 1 PM Eastern, 2 PM Atlantic & 2:30 PM in Newfoundland, we will be conducting a town hall meeting on Employment.

In today's ever changing work environment, it is crucial to understand what may be expected of people in different types of employment settings. The panel we have assembled come from three very different backgrounds. This town hall discussion will be your chance to learn what issues are important for people who are blind, partially sighted or deaf/blind when they consider working in different employment situations. Our panel represents three key sectors in today's job market. Robin East is an employee with Canada Revenue Agency and will share what key points are important when working as a government employee. Chris Chamberlin is the president of Frontier Computing and will share his knowledge of working in the private sector and specifically with a small business. Finally, Sandra Carpenter the executive director of the Centre for Independent Living in Toronto will talk about issues and concerns working in the non-profit sector.

This meeting is not a forum to apply for your next job. It is a chance to learn what will be necessary as you do research into what is the best option for success in the work place. If you want to attend, please RSVP no later than March 10 with your name and email address to Melanie Moore at melanie.moore@cilt.ca. This will allow us to ensure that all participants
are sent any documents ahead of the meeting they may be interested in reading prior to the meeting. Please note this meeting will be done via a toll free teleconferencing system.

Thank you very much in advance for your interest.
Your Electronic Town Hall Committee

 

Archival Date: 
Sunday, March 25, 2012