You are here:

Is the government complying with its new standard on web accessibility? Help us find out!

On November 29, 2010 the Federal Court of Canada released a landmark decision concerning the rights of Canadians with disabilities to access government websites. 

Justice Kelen declared that Donna Jodhan's inability to access certain government websites is representative of a system wide failure by government departments and agencies to make their websites accessible, and that the government's failure to monitor and ensure compliance with its own accessibility standards violates the equality guarantee in the Charter. He declared that the government has a constitutional obligation to bring itself into compliance with the Charter within a "reasonable time period, such as 15 months."  If the government is not complying, Justice Kelen indicated Ms. Jodhan can apply to him for further specific directions to the government.

Following the Court's decision, the government released a new Standard on Web Accessibility which adopts WCAG 2.0 (  The Standard has a multi-phase implementation deadline.   Phase I includes all web site home pages and pages referenced from web site home pages of all 107 federal government departments and agencies listed in Schedule I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act.

We are asking for your help to determine whether the government is complying with its new Standard.  If you want to help, here is what you can do:

By February 29, 2012, please visit the web site home page, or a page referenced from the web site home page of one or more of the 107 government departments and agencies listed below. Try as many as you can so we know if the government is complying.

Let us know if the web page is accessible or not by completing the Accessibility Report Form below and emailing it to Luz Sucilan at  By filling in the form each time you hit a barrier or gain access, you will help us determine if the government is living up to its Charter obligations to you.  Give us the information we need to secure court ordered website access if it is not, and to call for a national celebration if it is.


Accessibility Report Form

Your Name:

Name and version of your operating system (e.g. "Windows XP"):

Name and version of your browser (e.g. "Internet Explorer version 8"):

Name and version of your AT (e.g. "NVDA version 2011.2"; "JAWS version 11"):


Date of visit:

Web Address (URL) you visited (starting with http or https):

Was the web page accessible? (yes or no):

If the web page was not accessible, please provide a short description of the incident (e.g. "Unable to use the job bank"):

Please provide a longer description of the incident (e.g. How did the page prevent access? What strategies did you try?):



Source code of the web page:

Attach a screenshot of the incident.

List of 107 government departments and agencies

  • Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Department of Canadian Heritage
  • Department of Citizenship and Immigration
  • Department of the Environment
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Fisheries and Oceans
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Human Resources and Skills Development
  • Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
  • Department of Industry
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of National Defence
  • Department of Natural Resources
  • Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Department of Public Works and Government Services
  • Department of Social Development
  • Department of Transport
  • Treasury Board
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Department of Western Economic Diversification
  • Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Canada Industrial Relations Board
  • Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal
  • Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
  • Canadian Forces Grievance Board
  • Canadian Grain Commission
  • Canadian Human Rights Commission
  • Canadian Human Rights Tribunal
  • Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Canadian International Trade Tribunal
  • Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
  • Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
  • Canadian Security Intelligence Service
  • Canadian Space Agency
  • Canadian Transportation Agency
  • Communications Security Establishment
  • Copyright Board
  • Correctional Service of Canada
  • Courts Administration Service
  • Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
  • Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
  • Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
  • Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada
  • Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission
  • Immigration and Refugee Board
  • Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission
  • Library and Archives of Canada
  • Military Police Complaints Commission
  • National Energy Board
  • National Farm Products Council
  • National Film Board
  • National Parole Board
  • Northern Pipeline Agency
  • Office of Infrastructure of Canada
  • Office of the Auditor General
  • Office of the Chief Electoral Officer
  • Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs
  • Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying
  • Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
  • Office of the Communications Security Establishment Commissioner
  • Office of the Co-ordinator, Status of Women
  • Office of the Correctional Investigator of Canada
  • Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Office of the Governor General's Secretary
  • Office of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner
  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
  • Offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners of Canada
  • Patented Medicine Prices Review Board
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Appointments Commission Secretariat
  • Public Health Agency of Canada
  • Public Service Commission
  • Public Service Staffing Tribunal
  • Public Service Labour Relations Board
  • Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada and that portion of the federal
  • public administration appointed under subsection 12(2) of the Supreme Court
  • Act
  • Registry of the Competition Tribunal
  • Registry of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal
  • Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police Public Complaints Commission
  • Security Intelligence Review Committee
  • Shared Services Canada
  • Statistics Canada
  • Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada
  • Veterans Review and Appeal Board
  • Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada
  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Canada Emission Reduction Incentives Agency
  • Canada Employment Insurance Commission
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Canada School of Public Service
  • Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
  • Canadian Food Inspection Agency
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
  • Canadian Polar Commission
  • Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board
  • Law Commission of Canada
  • The National Battlefields Commission
  • National Research Council of Canada
  • National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council
  • Parks Canada Agency
  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Archival Date: 
Wednesday, February 29, 2012
ZZ - Disregard this link; it is used to trick spammers.