You are here:

Self-advocacy Town Hall - November 3, 2012

The Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC) in conjunction with Centre for Independent Living (CILT) and Citizens with Disabilities of Ontario (CWDO) are pleased to announce the holding of yet another town hall meeting. 

This meeting will focus on self advocacy; issues that participants will have the opportunity to identify as those that they are either advocating for at the present time or those that they feel that they need to advocate for.

Our esteemed panellists for this meeting will be:

  • Robin East - a long-time advocate for the AEBC and a technology specialist for Revenue Canada.
  • Kim Kilpatrick - an advocate with years of experience to share.
  • John Rae - a long time advocate for the AEBC.

This meeting will be held on November 3, 2012 and the starting time is as follows depending in which time zone you reside:

  • 10 AM Pacific
  • 11 AM Mountain
  • 12 PM Central
  • 1 PM Eastern
  • 2 PM Atlantic
  • 2:30 PM in Newfoundland

Participants will have an opportunity to ask questions of any of these panellists and will be given the chance to ask  a follow-up question.  If time permits, they may have a second opportunity to ask a new question. 

The objective of this meeting is for you to identify the issues that you advocate for.  This meeting is not meant to be used as a forum for anyone to advocate on your behalf but rather, our esteemed panellists will give you hints and tips on self advocacy and point you to those who can be of further help to you.

If interested, please contact Brian Moore at bmoore@screenreview.org no later than October 27 and you will be sent a document containing the rules of engagement to our meeting.  This document will also contain the call in info that you will need in order to access our meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you to our meeting. 

Thank you!
The Town Hall Team

Archival Date: 
Sunday, November 4, 2012