You are here:

Upcoming Strategic Planning Sessions

The Strategic Planning Committee is pleased to announce the following upcoming focus group/discussion sessions, where you will have an opportunity to express your views on where you think the AEBC should be heading, the challenges and opportunities that are available to us, and devise a plan for how we will ultimately reach those goals.

Each of these sessions will take place by teleconference and are expected to last approximately an hour. Please RSVP prior to the sessions by calling 1-800-561-4774 or emailing communications@blindcanadians.ca. A reminder, call-in information, and further details on the agenda and plan for the meeting will be distributed a few days in advance of the session to those who have expressed an interest in participating.

All of these sessions will begin at 2pm Eastern. That's 11am Pacific, 12 Noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 3pm Atlantic, for those in other areas of the country.

Stage 1: Initial Consultations

This is an opportunity for those who were not at the conference to offer their general views on the four questions which were posed and discussed at the AGM. These four questions are:

(1) What is the current role of the AEBC? (2) Who are the AEBC's members? Who should they be? (3) What should the AEBC start doing? What should the AEBC stop doing? What should the AEBC continue doing? (4) In the past five years, how have you benefited from your affiliation with the AEBC?

If you already participated in this discussion at the AGM, there is no need to participate again. This session is being offered for those who were not in attendance, in the event that we receive new and different feedback from those members.

Session 1 - Saturday, August 17th, 2013 @ 2pm Eastern. - RSVP by Thursday, August 15th, 2013 to ensure that you receive the call-in information!

Stage 2: Visioning

The goal of these two sessions is to discuss, in particular, where we envision the AEBC to be in five years. What will the organization look like? How might it be structured? What role will it be playing in people's lives?

Session 2 - Saturday, August 24th, 2013 @ 2pm Eastern - RSVP by Thursday, August 22nd, 2013 to ensure that you receive the call-in information!

Session 3 - Sunday, September 8th, 2013 @ 2pm Eastern - RSVP by Friday, September 6th, 2013 to ensure that you receive the call-in information!

Stage 3: Obstacles/Opportunities

At this stage of the discussion, we will be focused on identifying the challenges and opportunities that exist for reaching our vision.

Session 4 - Saturday, September 28th, 2013 @ 2pm Eastern - RSVP by Thursday, September 26th, 2013 to ensure that you receive the call-in information!

Stage 4: Strategy Development

Based on all of the information collected in the preceding sessions, this will be an opportunity to discuss concrete measures that can be taken to work around the challenges, take advantage of the opportunities, and move the AEBC toward achieving the overall vision.

Session 5 - Sunday, October 6th, 2013 @ 2pm Eastern - RSVP by Friday, October 4th, 2013 to ensure that you receive the call-in information!

Archival Date: 
Thursday, October 10, 2013
ZZ - Disregard this link; it is used to trick spammers.