You are here:

Congratulations to Rebecca Jackson, Tyler Harris, and Georgia Pike - 2015 AEBC/T-Base scholarship award winners!

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

(Kelowna, BC/ Ottawa, ON- August 11, 2015) - For the fourth consecutive year, T-Base Communications has collaborated with the Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC) to provide scholarships to help fund the educational pursuits of students who are blind, deaf-blind, or partially sighted and enrolled in a post-secondary institution in Canada. Each year, the scholarship program helps students achieve their academic goals as they build towards a successful future. “As the leader in providing education materials in a range of accessible formats, T-Base is thrilled to support students in their pursuit of an accessible education of their choosing,” said Bruce Moszcelt, co-CEO of T-Base Communications.

This year, among the many impressive applicants, Rebecca Jackson, a full-time psychology major at Ottawa’s Carleton University, was the successful recipient of T-Base’s $2,000 scholarship. Rebecca is pursuing her degree in psychology in hopes of becoming an assistive technology specialist. In addition, Rebecca’s passion for technology has extended to her extra-curricular activities as an active member of the Canadian Council of the Blind’s Get Together with Technology Program. “Often I had to dispel common myths about blindness by advocating and educating people slowly in order to change the views of blindness being debilitating,” said Jackson.

AEBC is also pleased to announce that it has awarded scholarships to two outstanding students in the amount of $1000 each. “Each year we are presented with many outstanding candidates who demonstrate their commitment to achieving a higher education as well as making a difference in the inclusion of blind Canadians in all aspects of social life,” said Leo Bissonnette, National Director and Chairperson of the Student and Education Council Committee.

This year, Tyler Harris and Georgia Pike were the successful recipients of AEBC’s 2015 Jennifer Laura Eve Wilson Memorial Scholarship. “Jennifer was someone who was always selfless, always there for someone in need. She showed courage in overcoming adversity. She took the challenges life put her way from the complications of Type 1 diabetes including visual impairment, and rose above them with her courage, inner strength and determination to make the world a better place for others. These annual AEBC scholarships continue her tradition of helping others,” adds Bissonnette.

Tyler Harris is enrolled at McMaster University where she is pursuing her third year in Humanities II (Bachelor of Arts Honours in History) while also planning to minor in Philosophy. Georgia Pike, who is attending the University of Victoria, is following courses leading to a Bachelor of Arts with a major in Psychology.

About T-Base Communications

At T-Base, we help large organizations provide their blind and low vision students or customers a range of alternative forms of communication. We convert educational materials, documents or statements into various alternative formats, such as braille, large print, audio, e-text and accessible PDF. In the education space, our processes are designed so that we’re able to receive and transcribe large volumes of data, which allows us to deliver educational materials in alternate formats on behalf of North America’s educational institutions in a timely fashion.

About The Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians

The Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians is a national charitable organization, founded in 1992, that is dedicated to promoting the increased inclusion of blind, deaf-blind and partially sighted Canadians in all aspects of social life, from employment to participation in elections. Our members, comprised of blind, deaf-blind, and partially sighted consumers and supporters from across the country, participate in working groups and committees, engage with local, city-based chapters, and engage in public awareness and education activities on a daily basis.

For further information:

T-Base Communications
Deanna White
Media Relations
(613) 236-0866 Ext. 1231

Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians
Leo Bissonnette, Ph.D.
National Director and Chairperson of the Student and Education Council Committee